The beginning of a new “us”.

Okay.  My favorite Tibetan bells recording is looping in the background.  I’ve had two big cups of coffee.  And I’m staring at this blank page because if I spend five more minutes procrastinating by looking at my friends’ cute babies on Facebook there is going to be a spontaneous conception in my uterus.

So let’s just forget about all that for a second.  I’ll tell you why I’m here, and then I want to hear about why you’re here.

I’m a Gemini.  I’m inflexible but still an avid yoga enthusiast.  My Southern accent gets really thick when I drink or talk about how awesome my momma is.  I had braces for five years (these teeth were some scraggly little buggers).  And for as long as I can remember, I have tried to figure out how people tick. 

That desire has driven me to devour books about behavior and body language and world religions.  In high school, I dove into anatomy because I thought being a surgeon would be the best way to understand people.  [Turns out that someone who passes out at the sight of a needle is not a good candidate for being a doctor.]

All this studying convinced me that the foundational experience of being human is our innate desire to communicate through the things we create To test this theory, I spent my college scholarship stipend on teaching art classes for children and adults with disabilities to explore the core experience of being a creative human.

As a professional, I’ve explored art’s power as a vessel for communication through my work as a curator for renowned behavioral economist Dan Ariely‘s lab The Center for Advanced Hindsight and as an energy-infuser for established arts organizations seeking new ways to understand and engage their local communities.

But I am always seeking bigger crazier challenges to sate my curiosity.  After five years of working at a desk facilitating opportunities for other people to create, I needed to stand up, crack my knuckles, and see what my own two hands could make.

So in 2013, I embarked on a quest to live with 11 collectives of artists across the globe that use art to revitalize their communities and made art right alongside them.  Their techniques for creating influential projects and my own personal sketches were compiled into the 13/13/13 Sketchbook Project.

In all that exploration, I discovered that…

CREATIVE FOLKS LOVE TO TALK ABOUT HOW ART CAN CHANGE THE WORLD, BUT THEY STRUGGLE TO TRANSLATE THEIR WORLD-ALTERING VISIONS IN A WAY THAT OTHERS CAN GRASP.

This discovery spawned Conversing Fire, which will offer e-books and courses to equip creative visionaries — yes, you — with the tangible communication skills required to create a magnetic, authentic, compassionate, and fiery connection with your audience.

The posts on the Conversing Fire blog — Kindling — will give you actionable tools to

  • discover what your world-altering visions actually are and how you are the exact right person to champion them
  • express your visions clearly through your creations
  • recognize the moments ripe for connection to another person
  • develop the confidence to approach them
    and ultimately transform them into a fiery follower through tenderness, empathy, and authenticity

I am determined to continue following this desire to understand how people tick because I know imparting these findings will empower other creators like you to incite rousing and innovative social change.

BECAUSE BY LEARNING HOW TO SHARE OUR FIRE, OUR PASSION, AND OUR CREATIVITY IN A WAY THAT OTHERS CAN RELATE TO, WE WILL CHANGE THE WORLD.

So sidle on up to the fire with me.  Tell me here about what sparks your curiosity.  Tell me how you want to change the world.  Tell me how I can help you.

Thank you.  For being here.  For being you.  For beginning a new “us”.

Leave a Reply

