Red Hooded Cape

We all have an item of clothing that as soon as we saw it, we felt “Yes!  This summarizes everything that I am and want to be!”  For some of us, it may be a scarf, pair of boots, boxing gloves, dangly earrings, a Stetson… the list goes on an on.

When I was a little one, I wore leotards and tights constantly.  Constantly.  I wanted to be a ballerina, but the lasting impact of this rotating dance-wear was the fact that my mother instilled in me that I could wear whatever I wanted.  She may not have anticipated the sheer genius of the outfits that I would put together.

Last winter, I was on the prowl for a new winter coat.  One fateful day, I stumbled upon the most gorgeous article of clothing I could have imagined.  I fell in love and ordered immediately.

It symbolizes who I want to be:

Yep, that’s a red cape

I want to be little Little Red Riding Hood.

She follows where her curiosity leads.

Illustration by Daniel Egnéus

She revels in nature’s playful beauty.

Illustration by Daniel Egnéus

She faces her problems head-on.

Illustration by Daniel Egnéus

She is fiercely courageous.

Illustration by Daniel Egnéus

She protects her loved ones.

Illustration by Daniel Egnéus

I want to be her because she’s baller.

All of these illustrations are from “Little Red Riding Hood,” illustrated by Daniel Egnéus.  If you don’t have a copy of this captivatingly intricate book, buy one immeditately!  You’ll fall in love just like I did.

Egnéus’ style has greatly influenced the drawing style of my sketchbooks.

Just a reminder that you can pre-order all 13 sketchbooks created during the 13/13/13 Sketchbook Project for only $250 to have them all shipped to you the day each is released, saving 34% off the retail price.  This offer ends December 1st!

Leave a Reply

